Languages

fr en es zh

Thanks for helping us to translate this site Translations Git directory

Ask the program !

«

Reminder: FSM 2017 CFP

Less than three weeks are left to submit your proposal!

Libre et change

Eeach year the FSM gather thousands of free software and libre culture actors in a dialogue with a large public. This year, we wish to bring the energies of the Libre community worldwide around Freedom And Change[^*].

[^*] In French, "libre et change" is a pun on "libre-échange" (free trade).

This common theme carries the contradiction of the promise, always delayed and never accomplished, of the 'free trade' economy that, like the promise of democracy or the Human Rights Charter, presupposes the equality of actors and chances. Despite the paradox of this egalitary will confronted to a completely different reality, with increasing inequalities and more obvious existential threats, the contribution of free software, both marginal in the respect of its ethical choices, and increasingly dominating the network technical infrastructure, demonstrates that it's not only possible but desirable to insist on the possibilities and coherence of an ethical discourse on freedom and the technical infrastructure fostering it.

FSM 2017

FSM 2017 follows a reduced edition in Paris, 2016, limited to the booming aspects, in a control society more and more terrified, of security, only able to offer the means of resistance to those who can see, beyond the fatalist discourse of power overtaken by events, the failures of an inadequate system and the means to bypass them, proper to the hacker spirit.

Such loss of impetus, or such quelling of freedom in a global atmosphere of threats to life won't surprise anyone. So, to bring back momentum and breath to our aspiration for a technology that integrates with human communities and sustains them, instead of restricting or negate them, we decided to draw our resources from the melting pot of a city rich in such contradictions, whose history grew with the mining and military industries, all destined to technique for its efficiency, and who nowadays got wiser in adopting a transversal perspective of design.

Standing firm on these two supports, well settled in locality, we can then welcome a worldwide gathering with a dimension beyond a simple resistance to "terrorist pressure", restrictions, and "communalist" recoils to confront them with strength and pay hommage to the technical and collective powers of free software, that can develop ways of reconciliation between technical and human development.

Hommage to Gilbert Simondon

Among major thinkers of our times, Saint-Étienne-born Gilbert Simondon disrupted the outlook of our contemporaries on technique as well as on the individual and the collective (with his notions of transindividual and transduction). If the influence of his thought remains marginal we must realize its depths and the new instruments to understand the tensions in our society so influenced by technological inventions.

Specialists of the thought of Simondon will enlighten the singularity of free software in our time all captivated by efficiency for itself, and remind us how much the path affects the significance of the produced objects.

Saint-Étienne Creative City of Design

FSM 2017 will take place at the Design City and in the buildings of Télécom Saint-Étienne. This year the city of Saint-Étienne carries the flame of UNESCO's _Creative City of Design, a prestigious program that we intend to illustrate. A small visit to the Design City website will replace the aesthetical orientation of this year's program in a larger scope than usually understood by the term often restricted to the domain of the arts: we intend to re-establish the social and citizen dimension of aesthetics, and contribute to a vision of free software in this sense. Considering the Libre aesthetics as engagement, participation, and cooperation, we want to insist on the central role that free technologies production must take in the evolution of everyday life, embracing a hybridization of the living and the technological according to citizen perspectives.

Following the tenth Biennal of Design of Saint-Étienne, whose common theme considers the "mutations of labor", we will envision the powers of Libre to contribute to the well-being and the transformation of society--a humane society built on ethical values of sharing of knowledge and the means of production at the heart of the Libre Movement.

Contribute to FSM 2017

Submit a proposal (until Mach 31): https://2017.rmll.info/cfp

Rupture & Continuity

In addition to traditional conferences (and lightning talks), workshops and the Community Village, we invite you to submit more participative interventions such as the expression of cooperative needs, exhibitions, performances, and a professional show. We also programmed early-evening shows to discover artists engaged in the Libre Movement. Please see What's New at FSM 2017? for more information.

Addressed Topics

We decided on 8 transversal topics to encourage a broad variety of submissions that are inscribed in the different sectors where free software operates. The public can discover and question the importance of stakes often unknown beyond concerned circles, and solutions to these issues brought forward by the Libre Movement.

Security: Between Transparency and Opacity

A major theme at FSM, a carrier of societal stakes all the more so important as they unfold in the world in ever-invasive form, computer security concerns not only nation-states, institutions, and the bigger economic players, but also small businesses and citizens, savvy or not. From virus to ransomware, from attacks perpetrated by organized crime or secret services, to vulnerabilities in software and hardware, from general incomprehension to oppressive laws and threats to security practioners themselves, whether you want it or not, whether you get it or not, security is a critical place in contemporary society. Security articulates a fragile balance between the need for systems transparency and the opacity required to protect privacy and to preserve collective institutions.

What are the issues facing engineers and hackers, what tools are available to discover, report, and correct vulnerabilities, and how free software can favor a safer world when the machine that comes with us becomes our enemy?

Science and Learning: Situation and perspectives

With the explosion of knowledge and scientific disciplines, its financial, ethical, and environmental stakes, science cannot anymore claim 'neutrality' that it boasted before the Holocaust, the atomic bomb, or the Zika virus. Long ago, with the Encyclopaedists, a bearer of a will to share knowledge, science is now eroded by economic interests, invaded by competitivity, and put under pressure to solve all of the world's problems, as it is addressed as one would address God to claim protection from His wrath.

Facing such issues, what role can free software play and what practices develop to give back to science the taste of sharing and wonder to which knowledge can bring us?

User Side: Diversity of Usage

Computers are now omnipresent, but technology production seems to have reduced usage to a simple consumption to which format one should conform since production mostly remains in other people's hands. The ethics of fundamental freedoms of free software and libre technologies give users the possibility to affect technological production and give it back to citizens and the collective, through dialogue with developers and a recognition of usage specificity that big promoters of proprietary technologies seem to ignore when they impose their 'global vision'. Be it customizing a program, adapt it to a different usage, make it accessible to all or respectful of cultures (deaf or ethnical), free software offers new perspectives unavailable to its competitors captured by the imperative of profitability and a racket mentality. However if free software conquered the servers, it remains weak in the dialogue with related disciplines of design, ergonomy, etc., and above all in its relative absence from daily life professions (architecture, craft, trade, accounting, fiscality, etc.) suitable for engaging users more in the Libre Movement.

What are then the advantages of free software to engage in a fruitful dialogue between these 'minorities' that indeed form the majority of our fellow citizens?

Server Side: Complexity of Stakes

The amplification of computer networks gave birth to giants who today capture the majority of traffic and the world's data. The energy necessary to satisfy the growing needs of the "digital economy" rises ceaselessly, creating data centers that consume as much as entire cities. Data transiting over the network range from banal to shocking, from entertainment to critical, in a back and forth movement ruled by technical, ethical, legal, and economic constraints whose scope largely exceed the capacity of human and institutional groups to grasp them. At the heart of this monster pulsate the bits of free software, a major instrument of this 'digital revolution'. And behind closed doors, savvy sysadmins make the world go round and remain invisible, or break things and get all the blame.

How system administration evolved with new techniques and greater scales? What does the Internet look like? What techniques are deployed to make it intelligible and better its functioning? What resources are necessary to its production? To what extent can free software contribute to the evolution of this public infrastructure, to which access is recognized as a fundamental right by the UN?

Sharing: Collective Aspects of the Libre Movement

If freedom to run a program (freedom 0) and to study how it works (freedom 1) are well-understood thanks to practical individual appropriation of these notions, collective freedoms of sharing (freedom 2) and contributing (freedom 3) often remain interpreted pragmatically in the sole domain of software. But it's with the interaction between developers and non-developers that the latter two freedom must be considered, as they unfold in the collective, in the affected communities, and meet problems that of course go beyond the technical domain only. It's in the domain of institutions notably that proprietary software find its privileged point of entry, with its captive users. Equally, in the legislative domain are arranged restrictions to the amplification of collaborative techniques, with 'software patents', the prohibition of threats to prohibit usage of free technologies or reverse engineering, etc. All domains that usually find few interest in software producers, or where they feel powerless to act. A child whose school imposes usage of privative software can only be in contact with the free software community through the social network of their fellow pupils or their family, but if themselves are forced to use de facto 'standardized' privative technology, the chances of technological emancipation shrink.

What bridges are available to socially palliate these anti-social lobbies whose pressure augments in our regions?

Hybridization: Uses of Free Software in the City

An element of response to the previous question concerns the recognition of sectors in which free software meets important sucess, for example in health and academic research, (sometimes) in activist networks, and hobbyists (hackerspaces, tinkerers...). Working hand in hand with successful practitioners can help bridge the gap between a population who can't fathom the importance of free technologies since they don't have proper access to them. Getting out of the labs and protected communities of savvy practioners, into the wider society and touch a larger public with examples where they wouldn't expect free software is often problematic since the 'digital divide' between hackers and the ordinary person requires pedagogy from the former and genuine interest on the latter.

What examples can be used to arouse people's interest in free technologies production? What sectors are most frustrated by an absence of alternative or flexibility in their control of the software, and what skills are needed to help things move towards a better response from the Libre Movement to ordinary people's computing needs? What institutional arrangements exist or need to exist in order to facilitate free software production beyond scratching an itch, to solve issues only addressed by proprietary software?

Programming: What Means to What Ends?

Writing software is not only a technical endeavor, it also affects what can be done with it. The art of programming is thus highly political, as the choice of algorithms, licenses, and supporting platforms have real effects on technology production, understood as technique deployed in society. Yet, as with any specialty with a high degree of knowledge, programming requires tools of the trade that facilitate the work. Free software has been creating a large amount of critical tools, languages, and methodologies to advance the craft, that are shared widely across all fields of computer science and the industry. From access to the source code and distributed development practice, to collaborative testing and open data formats, the Libre Movement has been at the forefront of making free technologies possible, in the spirit of science and culture, to share knowledge and advance community practice.

What does it entail for a software project to be free? What languages exist and how to choose them for a specific project? What tools are available to streamline a free software project from idea to production? What techniques are created to chase and solve bugs, or to avoid them entirely? How to deal with undocumented hardware? Which hardware platforms collaborate with free software developers? What methodologies and best practice enhance crafting free software? What new trends are embraced by the developer community and are they worth the adoption?

Libre Aesthetics: Engagement, Participation, Cooperation

Finally, we wish to engage reflexion on art and aesthetical thought. Lawrence Lessig famously wrote that 'code is law'. Increasingly, this means that software implements rules to which users must conform, sometimes without regard to existing law. Yet, programmers are often instruments in the hands of their employers, shaping reality under constraints they hardly choose. If satisfaction of ego (reputation) remains a primary engine for free software development, doesn't it mirror a sense of isolation, of dissociation that perspires all around us? We can define an aesthetics of free software with engagement, participation, and cooperation: engagement with the community, "to help your neighbor", participation of the community, because software developers can't alone devise solutions for cases they don't know about, and cooperation across disciplines, because software is not only a matter of code: it requires many different skills from mathematics and design to human sciences and geography, etc.. An aesthetics of free software is necessarily transdisciplinary and embraces complexity; it revolves around the human communities that decide to hybridize with technologies they choose consciously.

What are the new forms shaping the hybrid human-technology complex?

Other Topics

If you don't know where to place your intervention among the above topics, we welcome you to submit a proposal, do not hesitate. We're especially interested in proposals aiming to gather groups of programmers and their users.

Financial Support

In order to complete this year's budget and ensure a high quality of service, we're going to launch call to contribution to the community (that's you :)... We thank you in advance for contributing to the success of this enterprise by sharing it widely and of course chipping in. We're working on bringing some goodies that will be worth your effort!

The Road is Long AND the Way is Free

Meet participants from Africa, Asia, Americas, and of course Europe at FSM 2017. They may be prestigious or unknown, programmers, engineers, philosophers, scientists, artists, and citizens.

Thank you for your attention, and see you in Saint-Étienne next July!

Langues

fr en es zh

Merci de nous aider avec la traduction : Dossier Git des traductions

Demandez le Programme !

«

Rappel: CFP et note d'intention

Il vous reste moins d'un mois pour proposer vos interventions!

Libre et change

Chaque année les RMLL rassemblent des milliers d'actrices et d'acteurs du logiciel et de la culture libres dans un échange avec un large public. Cette année, c'est autour du "Libre et change" que nous souhaitons rassembler les énergies de la communauté mondiale du libre.

Ce fil rouge porte en lui la contradiction de la promesse, toujours réitérée mais jamais accomplie, de l'économie du "libre échange" qui, comme la promesse de la démocratie ou la charte des Droits Humains, présuppose l'égalité des acteurs et des chances. Malgré le paradoxe de cette volonté égalitaire confrontée à une réalité tout autre dans laquelle se déploient des inégalités croissantes et des défis existentiels de plus en plus évidents, la contribution du logiciel libre, à la fois marginale dans le respect de ses choix éthiques, et de plus en plus prépondérante dans l'infrastructure technique des réseaux, démontre qu'il est non seulement possible mais souhaitable d'insister sur les possibilités et la cohérence d'un discours éthique de la liberté et d'une infrastructure technique qui le porte.

RMLL 2017

Les RMLL 2017 font suite à une édition réduite qui a vu les Rencontres se limiter aux aspects porteurs, dans une société de contrôle de plus en plus terrorisée, du thème de la sécurité, en 2016, à Paris, seul à même d'offrir les moyens de résistance à celles et ceux qui voient au travers du discours fataliste d'un pouvoir dépassé par les événements, les failles d'un système inadéquat et les moyens de contournement propres à l'esprit des hackers.

Cet essoufflement, ou cet étouffement de la liberté dans une ambiance globale de montée des menaces contre la vie n'étonnera personne. Aussi, pour redonner de l'élan et du souffle à notre aspiration pour une technologie qui s'intègre aux communautés humaines et les soutient, plutôt qu'elle ne les restreint et les nie, nous avons décidé de puiser nos ressources dans le creuset d'une ville riche de telles contradictions, dont l'histoire s'est déployée avec l'industrie minière et militaire, tout entière vouée à la technique pour son efficacité, et qui aujourd'hui s'est assagie en adoptant la perspective transversale du design.

Campés sur ces deux appuis, bien ancrés dans la localité, nous pouvons ainsi accueillir des Rencontres Mondiales dont la dimension dépassera l'ambition d'une simple résistance à la "pression terroriste" et aux restrictions et reculs "communautaristes" pour les affronter avec force et rendre hommage aux puissances techniques et collectives du logiciel libre, à même d'élaborer des voies de réconciliation entre développement technique et humain.

Hommage à Gilbert Simondon

Parmi les penseurs majeurs de notre temps, le stéphanois Gilbert Simondon a bouleversé le regard porté par nos contemporains sur la technique aussi bien que sur l'individu et le collectif (avec les notions de transindividualité et de transduction). Si l'influence de sa pensée reste encore marginale il faut se rendre compte de sa profondeur et reconnaître en elle des instruments inédits pour comprendre les tensions qui existent aujourd'hui dans notre société hautement influencée par les inventions technologiques.

Des spécialistes de la pensée de Simondon viendront éclairer la singularité du logiciel libre dans notre époque toute conquise à l'efficacité pour elle-même et nous rappeler combien l'importance du cheminement influence la portée des objets produits.

Saint-Étienne ville du Design

Les RMLL 2017 se dérouleront à la Cité du Design et dans les locaux de Télécom Saint-Étienne. Cette année, la métropole stéphanoise porte le flambeau de Ville créative du design de l'UNESCO, un programme prestigieux dont nous entendons également illustrer l'ampleur. Un petit tour sur le site de la Cité du Design replacera l'orientation esthétique du programme de cette année dans un cadre plus vaste que ce que recoupe ce terme trop souvent compris comme limité au domaine de l'art: il s'agit pour nous de restituer la dimension sociale et citoyenne de l'esthétique, et contribuer à une vision du logiciel libre en ce sens. Considérant l'esthétique du Libre comme engagement, participation et coopération, nous souhaitons insister sur le rôle central que doit tenir la production technologique libre dans l'évolution du quotidien, embrassant l'hybridation du vivant et du technologique selon des perspectives citoyennes.

Faisant suite à la dixième Biennale du Design de Saint-Étienne, dont le thème principal considère les "mutations du travail", nous envisagerons les puissances du Libre pour contribuer au bien-être et à la transformation de la société--une société humaine construite sur les valeurs éthiques du partage des connaissances et des moyens de production qui sont au cœur du mouvement du logiciel libre.

Contribuer aux RMLL 2017

Proposer une intervention (jusqu'au 31 mars): https://2017.rmll.info/cfp

Rupture & continuité

Outre les traditionnelles conférences (et conf'éclairs), ateliers et le village associatif, nous vous invitons à proposer des interventions plus participatives telles que l'expression des besoins coopératifs, des expositions, des performances et un salon professionnel. Consultez "quoi de neuf aux RMLL 2017?" pour les découvrir. Nous avons aussi programmé des avants-soirées pour découvrir des artistes engagés dans le mouvement du Libre.

Les sujets abordés

Nous avons arrêté 8 thèmes transversaux afin d'encourager les interventions les plus diverses et inscrites dans les différents secteurs dans lesquels opèrent le Libre. Le public pourra découvrir et interroger l'importance d'enjeux souvent méconnus au-delà des cercles concernés et les solutions apportées par le mouvement du logiciel libre aux problématiques envisagées.

Sécurité: entre transparence et opacité

Thème majeur des RMLL, porteur d'enjeux sociétaux d'autant plus importants qu'elle se déploie dans le monde sous des formes toujours plus imposantes, la sécurité informatique concerne non-seulement les États, les institutions et les acteurs majeurs de l'économie, mais aussi les PME et chaque citoyen, qu'il soit technicien ou non. Des virus au ransomwares, des attaques perpétrées par le crime organisé et les services secrets aux failles de sécurité des logiciels et des appareils électroniques, de l'incompréhension générale aux lois liberticides et aux menaces sur les praticiens de la sécurité eux-mêmes, elle est, qu'on le veuille ou non, qu'on l'entende ou pas, l'un des lieux critiques de la société contemporaine. Elle articule un équilibre fragile entre le besoin de transparence des systèmes et d'opacité nécessaire à la protection de la vie privée et la préservation des institutions collectives.

À quelles problématiques doivent faire face les ingénieurs et les hackers, de quels outils disposent-ils pour rendre compte des failles et les corriger, et comment le logiciel libre peut-il favoriser un monde plus sûr alors que la machine qui nous accompagne devient notre ennemie?

Sciences et formations: situation et perspectives

Avec l'explosion des connaissances et des disciplines scientifiques, ses enjeux financiers, éthiques et environnementaux, la science ne peut plus aujourd'hui revendiquer la 'neutralité' dont elle pouvait encore, avant l'Holocauste, la bombe atomique et le virus Zika, se prévaloir. Jadis porteuse, avec les Encyclopédistes, d'une volonté de partage des savoirs, la science est aujourd'hui rongée par les intérêts économiques, envahie par la compétitivité et mise sous pression de résoudre tous les problèmes d'un monde qui s'adresse à elle comme on s'adressait à Dieu pour se protéger de Ses foudres.

Face à de tels enjeux, quel rôle peut tenir le logiciel libre et quelles pratiques peuvent-elles se développer pour redonner à la science le goût du partage et l'émerveillement auquel la connaissance peut nous ouvrir?

Côté utilisatrice: diversité des usages

L'informatique est désormais omniprésente, mais la production technologique semble reléguer l'usage à une simple consommation, au format de laquelle il faudrait se conformer puisque la production est majoritairement entre les mains d'autrui. L'éthique des libertés fondamentales du logiciel libre et des technologies libres donnent aux utilisateurs la possibilité d'influer sur la production technologique pour la rendre au citoyen et au collectif, par le dialogue avec les développeurs et la reconnaissance de spécificités d'usage que les grands fabricants de technologies privatives semblent ignorer en imposant leur 'vision globale'. Qu'il s'agisse de personnaliser un logiciel, de l'adapter à un usage différent, le rendre accessible à tous ou respectueux des cultures (sourdes ou ethniques), le logiciel libre offre des perspectives inédites chez ses concurrents happés par l'impératif de rentabilité et une mentalité de racket. Pourtant si le Libre a conquis les serveurs, il pêche encore dans le dialogue avec les disciplines connexes du design, de l'ergonomie, etc., et surtout par sa relative absence dans les métiers du quotidien (architecture, artisanat, commerce, comptabilité, fiscalité, etc.) propres à engager les utilisateurs plus largement dans le mouvement du Libre.

Quels sont donc les avantages du Libre pour engager un dialogue fructueux entre ces 'minorités' qui forment en fait la majorité de nos concitoyens?

Côté serveur: complexité des enjeux

L'amplification des réseaux informatiques a donné naissance à des géants qui aujourd'hui concentrent la majorité du trafic et des données de l'ensemble du monde. L'énergie nécessaire pour satisfaire les besoins croissants de "l'économie numérique" augmente sans cesse, créant des data centers qui consomment autant que des villes entières. Les données qui transitent sur le réseau vont du banal au choquant, du divertissement au critique, dans un va-et-vient régi par des contraintes techniques, éthiques, légales et économiques dont l'ampleur et la complexité dépassent largement la capacité des groupes et institutions humains à les saisir. Au cœur de ce monstre pulsent les bits du logiciel libre, instrument majeur de cette 'révolution numérique'. Et derrière des portes closes, des sysadmins doués font tourner le monde et restent invisibles, ou cassent des choses et en reçoivent tout le blâme.

Comment l'administration des systèmes informatiques a-t-elle évolué avec les changements de complexité et d'échelle? À quoi ressemble l'Internet? Quelles techniques sont déployées pour le rendre intelligible et améliorer son fonctionnement? Quelles ressources sont-elles nécessaires à sa production? Dans quelle mesure le logiciel libre peut-il contribuer à l'évolution de cette infrastructure publique, dont l'accès est reconnu comme un droit fondamental par l'ONU?

Partage: aspects collectifs du libre

Si les libertés d'usage du logiciel (liberté 0) et de l'étude de son fonctionnement (liberté 1) sont bien comprises grâce à l'appropriation individuelle pratique de ces notions, les libertés collectives de partage (liberté 2) et de contribution (liberté 3) restent souvent interprétées pragmatiquement dans le seul domaine logiciel. Or, c'est dans l'interaction entre dévelopeurs et non-dévelopeurs qu'il faut considérer ces deux libertés, car elles se déploient dans le collectif, au sein des communautés concernées, et rencontrent des problématiques qui dépassent bien entendu le seul domaine technique. C'est dans le domaine des institutions notamment que le logiciel propriétaire trouve son point d'entrée privilégié, car ses utilisateurs sont captifs. C'est dans le domaine législatif également que s'arrangent les restrictions à l'amplification des techniques collaboratives, par les 'brevets logiciels', l'interdiction ou les menaces d'interdiction de l'usage des technologies libres ou de l'ingénierie inverse, etc., domaines qui souvent intéressent peu les producteurs de logiciel, ou dans lesquels ils se sentent impuissants à agir. Un enfant dont l'école impose l'usage de logiciel privatif ne pourra avoir de contact avec la communauté du logiciel libre que par l'intermédiaire du réseau social de ses camarades ou de sa famille, mais si eux-mêmes se voient imposer une technologie privative 'standardisée' de fait, les chances d'émancipation technologique s'amenuisent.

Quels ponts sont-ils disponibles pour pallier socialement aux lobbies anti-sociaux dont la pression augmente dangereusement dans nos contrées?

Hybridation: usages du logiciel libre dans la cité

Un élément de réponse à la question précédente concerne la reconnaissance des secteurs dans lesquels le logiciel libre rencontre des succès importants, par exemple la santé et la recherche universitaire, les réseaux d'activistes (parfois) et d'amateurs (hobbyists, hackerspaces, bricoleurs...). Travailler main dans la main avec des praticiens brillants peut aider à réduire l'écart entre une population qui ne peut envisager l'importance des technologies libres comme elle n'y a pas accès dans de bonnes conditions. Sortir des laboratoires et des communautés protégées d'amateurs éclairés, s'ouvrir à la société plus largement et toucher le grand public avec des exemples de logiciels libre dans des situations inattendues est souvent problematique comme la 'fracture numérique' qui existe entre les hackers et le quidam requiert de la pédagogie des premiers et un intérêt réel du second.

Quels exemples peuvent être avancés pour éveiller l'intérêt du public dans la production des technologies libres? Quels secteurs se trouvent les plus frustrés d'une absence d'alternative ou de flexibilité dans leur contrôle du logiciel, et quelles compétences sont requises pour aider à formuler des réponses du mouvement du Libre aux besoins informatiques de la population? Quels arrangements institutionnels existent ou devraient exister pour faciliter la production de logiciel libre au-delà de gratter un développeur là où ça le démange, pour résoudre des problèmes seulement adressés par le logiciel propriétaire?

Programmation: quels moyens pour quelles fins?

Écrire du logiciel n'est pas uniquement un effort technique, cela affecte ce qui peut être fait avec. L'art de la programmation est donc éminemment politique comme le choix des algorithmes, des licences, des plate-formes qui portent le programme ont des effets réels sur la production technologique, entendue comme technique déployée dans la société. Cependant, et c'est vrai de toute spécialité incorporant une grande connaissance, la programmation requiert des outils de métier qui facilitent le travail. Le logiciel libre a créé un grand nombre d'outils indispensables, de langages et de méthodologies pour avancer l'art qui sont largement diffusés à travers toutes les disciplines des sciences informatiques et dans l'industrie. Depuis l'accès au code source et les pratiques de développement collaboratif, jusqu'aux méthodes de tests et aux formats ouverts de données, le mouvement du Libre continue de rendre possible la production de technologies libres dans l'esprit de la science et de la culture pour partager les connaissances et améliorer les pratiques collectives.

Que veut dire pour un logiciel d'être libre? Quels langages existent et comment les choisir en fonction d'un projet spécifique? Quels outils sont disponibles pour construire un projet libre depuis l'idée jusqu'à la production? Quelles techniques sont créées pour trouver et résoudre les bugs ou les éviter entièrement? Comment approcher le matériel non-documenté? Quelles plate-formes matérielles collaborent-elles avec les développeurs de logiciel libre? Quelles méthodes et bonnes pratiques améliorent la production de logiciel libre? Quelles nouvelles tendances sont accueillies par la communauté des développeurs et qu'est-ce qui valide leur adoption?

Esthétique du libre: engagement, participation, coopération

Enfin nous désirons engager une réflexion sur l'art et la pensée esthétique. Lawrence Lessig a très bien écrit que 'le code est loi'. De plus en plus cela signifie que le logiciel implémente des règles auxquelles les utilisateurs doivent se conformer, parfois en ignorance de lois existantes. En outre les programmeurs sont souvent des instruments aux mains de leurs employeurs et dessinent la réalité selon des contraintes qu'ils choisissent rarement. Isolés devant leurs machines, les programmeurs font souvent les frais de décisions dont ils n'ont pas la maîtrise. Parmi les professions contemporaines, l'informaticien du Libre dispose de peu de soutien hors de ses pairs en réseau. Si la satisfaction de l'ego (la réputation) reste un moteur du développement libre, cela ne reflète-t-il pas un isolement, une dissociation que l'on retrouve partout autour de nous? Nous pouvons définir une esthétique du Libre par l'engagement, la participation et la coopération : engagement auprès des communautés d'utilisateurs, "pour aider son prochain", participation de la communauté car les développeurs de logiciel ne peuvent pas à eux seuls élaborer des solutions pour des problématiques qu'ils ne maîtrisent pas, et coopération entre disciplines, car le logiciel n'est pas seulement une affaire de code : il requiert de nombreuses compétences diverses depuis les mathématiques et le design jusqu'aux sciences humaines et la géographie, etc. Une esthétique du logiciel libre est nécessairement transdisciplinaire et embrasse la complexité; elle concerne les communautés humaines qui décident de s'hybrider avec des technologies qu'elles choisissent consciemment.

Quelles sont les nouvelles formes qui dessinent ce complexe humain-technologique?

Autres thèmes

Si vous ne savez pas où placer votre intervention parmi les sujets évoqués plus haut, n'hésitez pas à faire une proposition, elle sera sans doute bienvenue. Nous recherchons particulièrement des propositions visant à rassembler des programmeurs entre eux et avec leurs utilisateurs.

Aide au financement

Afin de compléter le budget de cette année et assurer un service de qualité, nous avons lancé un appel à contribution à la communauté (c'est vous :)... Nous vous remercions par avance de contribuer au succès de cette entreprise en la diffusant et bien sûr en mettant la main à votre porte-monnaie.

La route est longue ET la voie est Libre

Retrouvez des intervenants d'Afrique, d'Asie, des Amériques et bien sûr d'Europe, prestigieux ou méconnus, programmeurs et ingénieurs, philosophes, scientifiques, artistes et citoyens aux RMLL 2017.

Merci de votre attention, et rendez-vous à Saint-Étienne en juillet!